नेपालको स्थानीय निर्वाचन २०७४ को पर्यवेक्षण

One major feature of the new constitution promulgated on September 2015 was the restructuring of Nepal’s local government, including devolution of power to newly created provinces and local units. After much deliberations and contestations, the constitutionally mandated Local Level Restructuring Commission finalized 743 local units. On February 20, 2017, the Government of Nepal announced the local elections for May 14, 2017 which was later broken into three phases due to political reasons. The first phase elections in provinces without Tarai districts (Province 3, 4 and 6) were held on May 14, second phase elections in rest of the provinces except province 2 was held on June 28. The province 2 edition across eight Terai districts was held on September 18.

Democracy Resource Center Nepal (DRCN) observed all three phases of the local elections conducted for the first time in nearly twenty years, and the first one under the new constitution and new local structures.

साझेदारी गर्नुहोस्: